Book Review | The Truth You Told by Brianna Labuskes

Thank you so much to NetGalley for the review copy of this book! When I read the synopsis, it sounded like my cup of tea and I was not wrong. I quickly learned that this was the second book in a series but funny enough, I had already downloaded the first book to listen to as an audiobook, so it worked out really well 😂😁

Publishing: September 2024
Pages: Not yet confirmed
Genre: Crime, Thriller, Suspense

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Gosh, I am such a sucker for a crime investigation involving the FBI and special forces and clever people. So this book was so right for me. I loved every minute of it. I just need to say that upfront. Generally, I enjoy listening to crime investigation stories, but with this one, I read it and absolutely loved every minute.

I enjoyed all the characters, good and bad, and as the investigation unfolded, I found myself so engrossed. I couldn’t wait to read further and see what happens next. I particularly enjoyed Kilkenny’s journey with finding out what happened to Shay and getting his answers after so many years. It was sad but it was great that he was finally getting answers.

The focus on serial killers was also very interesting and the psychologist who focused on children who were prone to become serial killers through various combinations of nature and nurture.

The linguistic element was my absolute favourite part! Deciphering codes and figuring out puzzles through written letters was such fun!

All in all, this was an incredible read for me. I would highly recommend reading book 1, called The Lies You Told and to then follow that up with this book. Especially if you enjoy crime and investigation.

To add this book to your Goodreads TBR, click here and for StoryGraph, click here.

Until next time 😊
Chevonn

Leave a comment